"لقد أتيحت لي الفرصة للتخلي عن منطقة الراحة الخاصة بي" - حائز جائزة Gaisce الذهبية Lucy McGill

حائزة على جائزة Gaisce Gold Lucy McGill من دبلن تتسلم جائزتها الذهبية من الرئيس Michael D. Higgins في حفل أقيم في St Patrick's Hall ، Dublin Castle في 10 ديسمبر 2018. الصورة: Maxwell's

لقد سعدنا بحصولنا على جائزة Gaisce Gold Award ومواطنة Dublin Lucy McGill تشاركها في رحلة Gaisce Journey في حفلنا الفضي في مركز مؤتمرات Griffith College في دبلن في 3rd 2019. بعد أربع سنوات من العمل الشاق ، حصلت لوسي على الميدالية الذهبية في قلعة دبلن على 10th ديسمبر 2018 من الرئيس مايكل دي هيغنز. إليكم قصتها الذهبية بكلماتها الخاصة.

الترفيه البدني: الهوكي

لاستجمامي البدني ، لعبت الهوكي مع نادي الهوكي النباتي. أحد الأشياء المفضلة عن الهوكي هو جانب الفريق. يعتمد اختيار الفريق على القدرة والتوافر بدلاً من العمر ، وبالتالي هناك دائمًا تنوع كبير في الفرق.

وصلت الهوكي النسائي في أيرلندا إلى الساحة العالمية العام الماضي حيث وصل فريق السيدات الأيرلندي إلى نهائي كأس العالم في أغسطس ، على الرغم من أنه الفريق الوحيد غير المحترف في المسابقة. مما لا شك فيه أن هذا وضع الهوكي الأيرلندي على الخريطة العالمية وتقدير هذه الرياضة التي اكتسبتها خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية أثناء إكمال Gaisce جعلني أدرك فقط ما هو الإنجاز الهائل الذي تحقق.

 

مهارتي: لغة الإشارة الأيرلندية

لمهاراتي الشخصية ، أحيت الحب الذي اكتشفته للغة الإشارة الأيرلندية (ISL) أثناء إكمال جائزتي البرونزية. لقد فتح تعلم لغة الإشارة الأيرلندية عيني على الثقافة الرائعة وتاريخ مجتمع الصم في أيرلندا. لقد تعلمت ، على سبيل المثال ، أن الأولاد والبنات اعتادوا تعليمهم إشارات منفصلة (مثل أيام الأسبوع) وأن أعضاء مجتمع الصم يطلقون أسماء مستعارة أو أسماء على بعضهم البعض.

في ديسمبر 2017 ، اكتسب ISL أخيرًا الأمل الطويل في الاعتراف بها كلغة رسمية في أيرلندا. كان هذا يومًا كبيرًا لمجتمع الصم في أيرلندا وشعب 5,000 الذين يتحدثون ISL كلغة أولى.

تم تصوير لوسي في حفل توزيع جوائز Gaisce الفضي في Griffith College مع ستيفن بيرن عضو 2FM والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة Gaisce Yvonne McKenna. الصورة: ماكسويل

نشاط متطوعي: تشغيل الحساء

بالنسبة لعملي التطوعي ، بدأت في تشغيل حساء أسبوعي ، حيث انضممت إلى مجموعة من المتطوعين المتحمسين للغاية والمتفانين من مجموعة من البلدان ومناحي الحياة الذين يجتمعون مرتين في الأسبوع لإعداد وتوزيع الطعام والمشروبات الساخنة والملابس على المشردين في دبلن. تواصل اجتماعي.

على مدار الأسابيع ، ستتعرف على أشخاص معينين ، وما الذي يحبون تناوله وعدد السكريات التي يتناولونها في الشاي. وبينما كنت أسير في المدينة الآن أرى هؤلاء الجاثمين في المداخل كأفراد لديهم قصص وقضايا ويفضلون ثلاثة أنواع من السكريات بدلاً من اثنين. لقد تعلمت مدى قيمة ابتسامة واحدة و "كيف حالك اليوم؟" يمكن ان يكون. لقد تعلمت أننا كبشر ، نريد فقط أن يتم الاستماع إلينا - وفي النهاية أن يتم الاستماع إلينا.

 

رحلتي المغامرة: كامينو دي سانتياغو

في رحلتي المغامرة ، مشيت 112km من Camino de Santiago في إسبانيا مع ثلاثة من الأصدقاء. كان ممتع للغاية ، ولكن ليس كل الإبحار عادي! في اليوم الثاني أمطرت أمطار من اللحظة التي غادرنا فيها إلى اللحظة التي وصلنا فيها. بحلول نهاية اليوم ، تحولت معظم المسارات إلى تيارات وكان لدينا الوحل في كل الأماكن التي يمكن تخيلها. بحلول الوقت الذي وصلنا إلى نزل كانت الاستحمام. بصراحة ، كنا نتساءل لماذا قررنا أن تكون هذه فكرة جيدة ... لكن في أيام أخرى كنا نسير عبر الغابات والحقول مع السكان المحليين الذين يطلق عليهم "Buen Camino" مع مرور الوقت. بحلول اليوم الأخير كنا قد خرجنا حتى من شروق الشمس! بشكل عام ، كان المشي في كامينو دي سانتياجو أحد أكثر الأشياء التي جربتها على الإطلاق. أنا حاليا بصدد التخطيط للسير في طريق آخر هذا العام.

التحدث في حفل توزيع جوائز Gaisce الفضي ، 3 مايو 2019 في مركز مؤتمرات Griffith College ، دبلن. الصورة: ماكسويل

مشروعي السكني: تدريس صفوف الصحة الإنجابية في تنزانيا

الفرق الرئيسي بين الميداليات الذهبية وميداليات غايسي الأخرى هو إدراج مشروع سكني. بالنسبة لمشروعي السكني ، قضيت ستة أسابيع أتطوع في تنزانيا لتدريس برنامج للصحة الإنجابية (والتربية الجنسية).

كنت دائمًا حذرة من برامج المتطوعين بالخارج ، وغالبًا ما أعتقد أنهم استفادوا من المتطوعين أكثر مما أفادوا السكان المحليين. ومع ذلك ، فإن هذا المشروع ناشدني لسببين. أولاً ، كنت أدرس نفس المعلومات التي كنت أدرسها في ورش الموافقة الجنسية في كلية ترينيتي. ثانياً ، ركضها السكان المحليون وعند وصولي ، تلقيت تدريباً ثقافياً مدته أسبوع ، حتى أتمكن من فهم العادات والقوانين والمحرمات التي جاءت مع العمل في تنزانيا. كمتطوعين ، أعتقد أنه بدون هذا التدريب كنا سنلحق ضرراً أكثر من المساعدة.

 

التأملات النهائية والأفكار

من خلال تجربة إكمال الجائزة الذهبية ، أتيحت لي الفرصة للتخطي خارج منطقة الراحة الخاصة بي والمشاركة في الخبرات والتحديات التي كان لها تأثير كبير على حياتي والطريقة التي أرى بها العالم الآن.

إذا كنت سأقدم ثلاث نصائح إلى أي شخص يفكر في الحصول على الذهب فسيكون:

  1. اختيار الأشياء التي تهمك! تبدو أسابيع 52 كوقت طويل ، ولكن إذا كنت تفعل شيئًا تستمتع به حقًا ، فستكون سريعة.
  2. تأكد من وجود رصيد لديك. تأكد من أنك لا تزال تأخذ وقتًا للراحة وتناول بعض الوقت. حصلت على الجائزة الذهبية لأربع سنوات وليس لدي أي ندم على نشرها حيث كان لدي وقت للتفكير في العملية والأشخاص الذين قابلتهم.
  3. نصيحتي الثالثة هي تحدي نفسك! تجاوز هذا الحد قليلاً مما كان لديك فرصة للقيام بجوائزك الفضية أو البرونزية. تعلم هذه السمفونية ، وانضم إلى هذا النادي الرياضي ، واتبع طرقًا جديدة ، وانغمس في ثقافات ومجتمعات مختلفة ، ثم اتخذ خطوة إلى الوراء وشاهد ما أوضح لك عن نفسك.

 

 

المقال السابق
التالى

التعليقات مغلقة.

القائمة الرئيسية

“I was given the opportunity to step outside my comfort zone“ – Gaisce Gold Award Holder Lucy McGill

Gaisce Gold Award Holder Lucy McGill from Dublin receiving her Gold Award from President Michael D. Higgins at a ceremony in St Patrick’s Hall, Dublin Castle on 10th December 2018. Photo: Maxwell’s

We were delighted to have Gaisce Gold Awardee and Dublin native Lucy McGill share her Gaisce Journey with us at our Silver Ceremony in Griffith College Conference Centre, Dublin on May 3rd 2019. After four years of hard work, Lucy received her Gold Medal in Dublin Castle on 10th December 2018 from President Michael D. Higgins. Here is her Gold story in her own words.

Physical Recreation: Hockey

For my physical recreation, I played hockey with Botanic hockey club. One of my favourite things about hockey is the team aspect. Team selection is based on ability and availability as opposed to age, and therefore there is always great variety on the teams.

Women’s hockey in Ireland took to the world stage last year with the Irish women’s team reaching the World Cup final in August, despite being the only fully non-professional team in the competition. Without a doubt, this has put Irish hockey on the global map and the appreciation for the sport that I have gained for it over the last few years while completing Gaisce has made me realise just what a huge achievement that is.

 

My Skill: Irish Sign Language

For my personal skill, I rekindled the love I had discovered for Irish Sign Language (or ISL) while completing my Bronze Award. Learning Irish Sign Language has opened my eyes to the fascinating culture and history of Ireland’s Deaf Community. I learned, for example, that boys and girls used to be taught separate signs (such as for the days of the week) and that members of the Deaf community give each other nicknames or Sign names.

In December 2017, ISL finally gained the long hoped for recognition as an official language in Ireland. This was a huge day for Ireland’s Deaf Community and the approximately 5,000 people who speak ISL as their first language.

Lucy pictured at the Gaisce Silver Awards in Griffith College with 2FM’s Stephen Byrne and CEO of Gaisce Yvonne McKenna. Photo: Maxwell’s

My Volunteer Activity: Soup Runs

For my volunteer work, I started to go on weekly soup runs, joining a group of extremely motivated and dedicated volunteers from an array of countries and walks of life who meet twice a week to prepare and distribute food, hot beverages and clothes to Dublin’s homeless community.

Over the weeks you get to know certain people, what they like to eat and how many sugars they take in their tea. And as I walk through town now I see those crouched in doorways as individuals with stories and issues and a preference for three sugars instead of two. I have learned how valuable one smile and a “how are you today?” can be. I learnt that as humans, we just want to be listened to – and ultimately to be heard.

 

My Adventure Journey: The Camino de Santiago

For my Adventure journey, I walked 112km of the Camino de Santiago in Spain with three friends. It was extremely enjoyable, but not all plain sailing! On the second day it rained and rained from the moment we left to the moment we arrived. By the end of the day most of the paths had turned into streams and we had muck in all places imaginable. By the time we reached the hostel the showers were. Frankly, we were wondering why we decided this would be a good idea… But other days we walked through forests and fields with local inhabitants calling “Buen Camino” as we passed. By the last day we had even cracked out the suncream! All in all, walking the Camino de Santiago was one of the most rewarding things I have ever done. I am currently in the process of planning to walk another route this year.

Speaking at the Gaisce Silver Awards, 3rd May 2019 in Griffith College Conference Centre, Dublin. Photo: Maxwell’s

My Residential Project: Teaching Reproductive Health Classes in Tanzania

The main difference between the Gold and the other Gaisce medals is the inclusion of a residential project. For my residential project, I spent six weeks volunteering in Tanzania teaching a reproductive health (and sexual education) programme.

I had always been wary of volunteer abroad programmes, often thinking they benefited the volunteers more than they benefited the local people. However, this project appealed to me for two reasons. Firstly, I was teaching the same information that I had been teaching in sexual consent workshops in Trinity College. Secondly, local people ran it and upon arrival, I received a week’s cultural training, so I could understand the customs, laws and taboos that came with working in Tanzania. As volunteers, I think without this training we would have been doing more harm than help.

 

Final Reflections and Thoughts

Through the experience of completing the Gold Award I was given the opportunity to step outside my comfort zone and to partake in experiences and challenges that have had a huge impact on my life and the way I now view the world.

If I were to give three pieces of advice to anybody who is considering going for gold they would be:

  1. Pick things that interest you! 52 weeks sounds like a long time but if you are doing something that you really enjoy it will fly.
  2. Ensure you do have a balance. Make sure you still take time to rest and have some me time. My Gold Award took me four years and I have no regrets about having spread it out as I had time to reflect on the process and the people I was meeting.
  3. My third piece of advice would be to challenge yourself! Go that bit further than you had a chance to do with your Silver or Bronze Awards. Learn that symphony, join that sports club, follow new roads, immerse yourself in different cultures and communities and then take a step back and see what that has shown you about yourself.

 

 

Previous
Next

Comments are closed.

Main Menu

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close