“我有机会走出舒适区” –盖斯奖金奖获得者露西·麦吉尔(Lucy McGill)

Gaisce金奖得主,来自都柏林的露西·麦吉尔(Lucy McGill)于10年2018月XNUMX日在都柏林城堡的圣帕特里克音乐厅举行的颁奖典礼上获得迈克尔·希金斯总统颁发的金奖。

我们很高兴Gaisce金奖得主和都柏林人Lucy McGill于5月3在都柏林格里菲斯学院会议中心举行的银牌仪式上与我们分享她的Gaisce旅程rd 2019。 经过四年的努力,露西(Lucy)在10的都柏林城堡获得了金牌th 总统迈克尔·希金斯(Michael D.Higgins)12月2018。 这是她用自己的话说的黄金故事。

体育休闲:曲棍球

为了娱乐,我在植物曲棍球俱乐部打了曲棍球。 关于曲棍球,我最喜欢的事情之一就是团队方面。 团队的选择基于能力和可用性,而不是年龄,因此团队中总是存在很多差异。

爱尔兰女子曲棍球去年进入了世界舞台,尽管女子爱尔兰曲棍球队是比赛中唯一的完全非职业队,但他们却于8月进入世界杯决赛。 毫无疑问,这使爱尔兰曲棍球走上了全球地图,而过去几年我在完成Gaisce比赛中所获得的对这项运动的赞赏使我意识到这是一项巨大的成就。

 

我的技能:爱尔兰手语

以我个人的技能,我重新点燃了对爱尔兰手语(或ISL)的爱,同时又获得了铜奖。 学习爱尔兰手语使我对爱尔兰聋人社区的迷人文化和历史大开眼界。 例如,我了解到,男孩和女孩曾经被教过单独的标志(例如一周中的几天),并且聋人社区的成员互相昵称或标志名。

在2017年12月,ISL终于获得了人们期待已久的被认可为爱尔兰官方语言的希望。 对于爱尔兰的聋人社区和大约以ISL为第一语言的5,000人来说,这是非常重要的一天。

露西与2FM的史蒂芬·伯恩(Stephen Byrne)和盖斯·伊冯·麦肯纳(Gaisce Yvonne McKenna)首席执行官合影,在格里菲斯学院(Griffith College)获盖斯银奖。 照片:麦克斯韦的

我的志愿活动:汤跑

对于我的志愿工作,我开始每周进行一次汤跑,加入了一群来自各个国家和各行各业的,非常有上进心和奉献精神的志愿者,他们每周见面两次,为都柏林的无家可归者准备和分发食物,热饮和衣服社区。

在数周的时间里,您会了解某些人,他们喜欢吃什么,以及茶中摄取了多少糖。 当我穿过城镇时,我看到那些蹲伏在门口的人是有故事和问题的人,并且偏爱三种糖而不是两种糖。 我了解到一个微笑的价值和“你今天好吗?”的价值。 可。 我了解到,作为人类,我们只想被倾听-最终被听到。

 

我的冒险之旅:圣地亚哥的卡米诺

在我的冒险之旅中,我和三个朋友一起走了112公里,位于西班牙的卡米诺圣地亚哥(Camino de Santiago)。 这是非常愉快的,但并非一帆风顺! 第二天,从我们离开的那一刻到我们到达的那一刻,下着雨。 到一天结束时,大多数道路都变成了溪流,我们在所有可以想象的地方都糟透了。 到我们到达旅馆的时候,淋浴开始了。 坦率地说,我们想知道为什么我们认为这将是一个好主意……但是,过了几天,我们路过时,当地居民叫“ Buen Camino”,穿过森林和田野。 到最后一天,我们甚至还破解了防晒霜! 总而言之,走Camino de Santiago是我做过的最有意义的事情之一。 我目前正在计划今年走另一条路。

在3年2019月XNUMX日在都柏林格里菲斯学院会议中心举行的盖斯银奖颁奖典礼上的演讲。 照片:麦克斯韦的

我的住宅项目:坦桑尼亚的生殖健康课程教学

金牌和其他Gaisce奖牌之间的主要区别在于包含了一个住宅项目。 在我的住宅项目中,我花了六周时间在坦桑尼亚做志愿者,教生殖健康(和性教育)课程。

我一直对国外的志愿者计划保持警惕,常常认为他们对志愿者的好处多于对当地人民的好处。 但是,这个项目之所以吸引我,有两个原因。 首先,我在三位一体学院的性同意研讨会上教授的信息相同。 其次,当地人来经营它,到达后,我接受了为期一周的文化培训,因此我可以了解在坦桑尼亚工作所伴随的习俗,法律和禁忌。 作为志愿者,我认为如果没有培训,我们所遭受的伤害就会大于帮助。

 

最后的思考与思考

通过获得金奖的经历,我有机会走出了自己的舒适区,并参与了对我的生活和现在的世界观产生巨大影响的经历和挑战。

如果我给正在考虑获取黄金的任何人三个建议,他们将是:

  1. 选择您感兴趣的东西! 52周听起来很长一段时间,但是如果您正在做自己真正喜欢的事情,它将会飞逝。
  2. 确保您确实有平衡。 确保您仍然花时间休息,让我有时间。 我的金奖花了我四年的时间,我没有遗憾地将它散布开来,因为我有时间来思考一下我的流程和与我见面的人。
  3. 我的第三条建议是挑战自己! 比您有机会获得银奖或铜奖还要走得更远。 学习交响乐,加入体育俱乐部,走新路,将自己沉浸在不同的文化和社区中,然后退后一步,看看对自己有什么启示。

 

 

上一页
下一页

评论被关闭。

主菜单

“I was given the opportunity to step outside my comfort zone“ – Gaisce Gold Award Holder Lucy McGill

Gaisce Gold Award Holder Lucy McGill from Dublin receiving her Gold Award from President Michael D. Higgins at a ceremony in St Patrick’s Hall, Dublin Castle on 10th December 2018. Photo: Maxwell’s

We were delighted to have Gaisce Gold Awardee and Dublin native Lucy McGill share her Gaisce Journey with us at our Silver Ceremony in Griffith College Conference Centre, Dublin on May 3rd 2019. After four years of hard work, Lucy received her Gold Medal in Dublin Castle on 10th December 2018 from President Michael D. Higgins. Here is her Gold story in her own words.

Physical Recreation: Hockey

For my physical recreation, I played hockey with Botanic hockey club. One of my favourite things about hockey is the team aspect. Team selection is based on ability and availability as opposed to age, and therefore there is always great variety on the teams.

Women’s hockey in Ireland took to the world stage last year with the Irish women’s team reaching the World Cup final in August, despite being the only fully non-professional team in the competition. Without a doubt, this has put Irish hockey on the global map and the appreciation for the sport that I have gained for it over the last few years while completing Gaisce has made me realise just what a huge achievement that is.

 

My Skill: Irish Sign Language

For my personal skill, I rekindled the love I had discovered for Irish Sign Language (or ISL) while completing my Bronze Award. Learning Irish Sign Language has opened my eyes to the fascinating culture and history of Ireland’s Deaf Community. I learned, for example, that boys and girls used to be taught separate signs (such as for the days of the week) and that members of the Deaf community give each other nicknames or Sign names.

In December 2017, ISL finally gained the long hoped for recognition as an official language in Ireland. This was a huge day for Ireland’s Deaf Community and the approximately 5,000 people who speak ISL as their first language.

Lucy pictured at the Gaisce Silver Awards in Griffith College with 2FM’s Stephen Byrne and CEO of Gaisce Yvonne McKenna. Photo: Maxwell’s

My Volunteer Activity: Soup Runs

For my volunteer work, I started to go on weekly soup runs, joining a group of extremely motivated and dedicated volunteers from an array of countries and walks of life who meet twice a week to prepare and distribute food, hot beverages and clothes to Dublin’s homeless community.

Over the weeks you get to know certain people, what they like to eat and how many sugars they take in their tea. And as I walk through town now I see those crouched in doorways as individuals with stories and issues and a preference for three sugars instead of two. I have learned how valuable one smile and a “how are you today?” can be. I learnt that as humans, we just want to be listened to – and ultimately to be heard.

 

My Adventure Journey: The Camino de Santiago

For my Adventure journey, I walked 112km of the Camino de Santiago in Spain with three friends. It was extremely enjoyable, but not all plain sailing! On the second day it rained and rained from the moment we left to the moment we arrived. By the end of the day most of the paths had turned into streams and we had muck in all places imaginable. By the time we reached the hostel the showers were. Frankly, we were wondering why we decided this would be a good idea… But other days we walked through forests and fields with local inhabitants calling “Buen Camino” as we passed. By the last day we had even cracked out the suncream! All in all, walking the Camino de Santiago was one of the most rewarding things I have ever done. I am currently in the process of planning to walk another route this year.

Speaking at the Gaisce Silver Awards, 3rd May 2019 in Griffith College Conference Centre, Dublin. Photo: Maxwell’s

My Residential Project: Teaching Reproductive Health Classes in Tanzania

The main difference between the Gold and the other Gaisce medals is the inclusion of a residential project. For my residential project, I spent six weeks volunteering in Tanzania teaching a reproductive health (and sexual education) programme.

I had always been wary of volunteer abroad programmes, often thinking they benefited the volunteers more than they benefited the local people. However, this project appealed to me for two reasons. Firstly, I was teaching the same information that I had been teaching in sexual consent workshops in Trinity College. Secondly, local people ran it and upon arrival, I received a week’s cultural training, so I could understand the customs, laws and taboos that came with working in Tanzania. As volunteers, I think without this training we would have been doing more harm than help.

 

Final Reflections and Thoughts

Through the experience of completing the Gold Award I was given the opportunity to step outside my comfort zone and to partake in experiences and challenges that have had a huge impact on my life and the way I now view the world.

If I were to give three pieces of advice to anybody who is considering going for gold they would be:

  1. Pick things that interest you! 52 weeks sounds like a long time but if you are doing something that you really enjoy it will fly.
  2. Ensure you do have a balance. Make sure you still take time to rest and have some me time. My Gold Award took me four years and I have no regrets about having spread it out as I had time to reflect on the process and the people I was meeting.
  3. My third piece of advice would be to challenge yourself! Go that bit further than you had a chance to do with your Silver or Bronze Awards. Learn that symphony, join that sports club, follow new roads, immerse yourself in different cultures and communities and then take a step back and see what that has shown you about yourself.

 

 

Previous
Next

Comments are closed.

Main Menu

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close