讲故事打破障碍的力量:大学里的青年和Mountjoy监狱的进步部共同获得了Gaisce –总统奖

 

“故事交流项目”是爱尔兰的同类活动中的第一个举措,它涉及Mountjoy监狱的进步部门,梅努斯大学进入计划和Gaisce –总统奖之间的独特合作。   

在六个月的过程中,Mountjoy监狱发展处的在押年轻人与Maynooth大学的年轻人(在Mountjoy监狱本身)聚集在一起,争取获得Gaisce奖(全国公认的青年发展奖)。 该项目是一个为期6周的密集的系列点对点共情建设研讨会,旨在挑战陈规定型观念并营造共同的努力感。   

Sarah Meaney(梅努斯大学)对该项目进行了研究,为将来跨部门合作提供了有力的证据基础。 每个参与该项目的年轻人都获得了Gaisce铜奖,现在分别进行银奖之旅。 

总统奖首席执行官盖森(Gaisce)今天欢迎该出版物的发行,他说:  

“ Gaisce对爱尔兰总统的年轻人来说是直接的挑战,他们需要学习并为周围的世界做出积极的贡献。 该项目的一个强大工具是交流真实,诚实和生动的经历-尽管参与的年轻人每个星期五都走进一个房间,认为自己与众不同,但在每次故事交流中,他们还是穿上了彼此的鞋子,学习了连接我们的社区比分裂我们更多。 

对于年轻人,无论情况如何,Gaisce奖都是一次旅程,涉及个人,身体和社区中的挑战。 今天发布的评估在影响力和潜力上是不言而喻的,我们期待继续与这些合作伙伴及其他合作伙伴一起,支持并赋权年轻人追求和实现其奖项。”

爱尔兰监狱管理局关怀与康复部主任弗格·布莱克(Fergal Black)说:  

“爱尔兰监狱管理局致力于与盖斯切总统奖合作,以确保26岁以下的在押人员有机会参加盖斯切计划,我们成立了联合指导委员会,以帮助我们实现这一目标。”  

梅努斯大学的访问经理Grace Edge说:  

“众所周知,高等教育中的学生群体并不能反映爱尔兰社会的多样性。 国家政策确定了特定的“准入”群体,包括在第三级代表不足的人群,包括社会经济背景较低的人群,残疾人,旅行者,单亲父母和成熟的学生。 换句话说,就Mountjoy监狱而言,来自都柏林一些邮政编码的人们传统上在监狱人口中所占比例过高,而在三级学生团体中所占比例却不足。 尽管有证据清楚地表明,囚犯,前囚犯和有信仰的人最常来自准入目标群体,但在有关扩大爱尔兰参与程度的全国性论述中,他们基本上仍然缺席。 该项目提供了一种使大学真正进入监狱生活的工具,并表明该大学认识到监狱人口中的才能,并希望支持囚犯和以前的囚犯进入高等教育。   

 

链接到 完整报告在这里.  

链接到 摘要报告在这里.

如有其他疑问或意见,请联系公共事务和传播经理SíonaCahill, siona@gaisce.ie 或0877530255。

 

盖斯的赞助人,爱尔兰总统迈克尔·希金斯(Michael D.

 

 

上一页
下一页

评论被关闭。

主菜单

The power of storytelling to break barriers: Youth in University and Mountjoy Prison’s Progression Unit achieve Gaisce – The President’s Award, together

 

The ‘Story Exchange Project’ is the first initiative of its kind in Ireland involving a unique collaboration between Mountjoy Prison’s Progression Unit, Maynooth University Access Programme and Gaisce – The President’s Award.   

Young people in custody in Mountjoy Prison’s Progression Unit and young people in Maynooth University were brought together (in Mountjoy Prison itself) over the course of 6 months to work towards achievement of a Gaisce award – a nationally recognised youth development award. The project was a 13-week intensive series of peer to peer empathy-building workshops, aiming to challenge stereotypes and create a sense of shared endeavour.   

Sarah Meaney (Maynooth University) undertook research on the project giving it a strong evidence basis for future collaborations across the sectors. Every young person involved in the project has achieved their Gaisce Bronze Award and are now proceeding individually on their Silver Award journeys. 

Welcoming the launch of the publication today, Gaisce – The President’s Award CEO Yvonne McKenna said:  

“Gaisce is a direct challenge to young people from the President of Ireland to learn and contribute positively to the world around them. A powerful tool in this project was the exchange of real, honest and lived experiences – the idea that although the young people involved stepped into a room every Friday seeing themselves as different, at each story exchange they walked in one another’s shoes, learning there is more that connects us as communities than divides us. 

The Gaisce Award is the same journey for young people regardless of their circumstance, involving challenges that are personal, physical and based in their community. The evaluation being published today speaks for itself in terms of impact and potential, and we look forward to continuing to work with these partners, and others, in supporting and empowering young people to pursue and achieve their Awards.”

Fergal Black, the Irish Prison Service’s Director of Care and Rehabilitation said:  

“The Irish Prison Service is committed to co-operating with Gaisce – Presidents Award to ensure that people in custody under 26 years of age are given the opportunity to participate in the Gaisce Programme and we have set up a joint Steering Committee to help us to deliver on that objective.”  

Grace Edge, Access Manager in Maynooth University said:  

“It is widely acknowledged that the student body in higher education does not reflect the diversity of Irish society. National policy identifies specific ‘access’ groups, including people from lower socio-economic backgrounds, people with disabilities, Travellers, lone parents and mature students, as under-represented in third level. Put another way, and in the case of Mountjoy prison, people from some Dublin postcodes are traditionally over-represented in the prison population and underrepresented in the third level student body. While the evidence clearly indicates that prisoners, former prisoners and people with convictions are most often drawn from access target groups, they remain largely absent from national discourse on widening participation to higher education in Ireland. This project provided a vehicle to bring the university into the life of the prison in a real way and to signal that the university recognises the talents within the prison population and wishes to support prisoners and former prisoners’ progression to higher education.   

 

The link to the full report here.  

The link to the summary report here.

For further queries or comment, please contact Síona Cahill, Public Affairs and Communications Manager on siona@gaisce.ie or 0877530255.

 

The Patron of Gaisce, Irish President Michael D. Higgins sent a letter to youth participants and those who were part of organising the Story Exchange on Thursday 29 October 2020:

 

 

Previous
Next

Comments are closed.

Main Menu