上个月在校园举行的一次演讲中,奥伯斯敦儿童拘留营的年轻人的辛勤工作和决心取得了成果,Gaisce 总统奖的参与者获得了铜奖和银奖。 

奥伯斯敦的年轻人在过去 12 个月里成功完成了盖斯 - 总统奖挑战,涵盖社区参与、个人技能、体育休闲和冒险之旅四个类别。 参与者参加了一系列活动来获得奖项,包括足球教练、咖啡师培训、烹饪和烘焙技能以及慈善和社区项目。 

Gaisce 首席执行官 Yvonne McKenna – 总统奖说: “Gaisce 是一个经过验证的自我发展计划,它是一个框架,通过它可以支持年轻人发展社交和情感能力,我们知道这对于做出积极的生活选择、发挥潜力和蓬勃发展——从同理心到自我效能感、自信到幸福。  

我们与奥伯斯敦的伙伴关系对盖斯来说非常重要:不仅因为该组织自 35 年前成立以来一直致力于确保爱尔兰的所有年轻人,无论他们的个人情况如何,都有机会参加 Gaisce 计划并获得 Gaisce 奖,但因为支撑 Oberstown 护理模式的价值观是我们完全支持的价值观。” 

Oberstown 董事 Damien Hernon 与 Robert Emmet CDP Beekeeper、Anthony Freeman O' Brien 和 Gaisce 首席执行官 Yvonne McKenna - 总统奖

Oberstown 董事 Damien Hernon 与 Robert Emmet CDP Beekeeper、Anthony Freeman O' Brien 和 Gaisce 首席执行官 Yvonne McKenna – 总统奖

完成该计划是一项重大成就,年轻人将发展广泛的实践和生活技能,建立自信和适应力,并专注于积极的成果。 

颁奖典礼后,奥伯斯敦总监达米恩·赫农 (Damien Hernon) 说: “我们为获得盖斯奖的年轻人和指导他们旅程的员工感到自豪。  

这些奖项说明,尽管年轻人通常来自困难的背景,但当他们获得安全可靠的环境和蓬勃发展所需的支持时,他们如何能够取得如此大的成就。 Gaisce 的目标是支持年轻人发挥他们的潜力,这与我们在 Oberstown 的承诺相一致,即帮助年轻人重返社区并做出积极贡献。” 

除了参加盖斯奖的年轻人外,奥伯斯敦更广泛的社区今年早些时候还通过在校园内种植传粉媒介友好的球茎来帮助保护我们重要的蜜蜂种群,从而参加了盖斯的蜜蜂球茎挑战赛。  

BulbsForBees 活动是一项全国性的号召性用语,呼吁爱尔兰的每个人在 2021 年秋季种植球茎,该球将于明年春天开花,以庆祝 Gaisce 成立 35 周年。  

迄今为止,自该运动开始以来,爱尔兰各地已经种植了超过 XNUMX 万株传粉媒介友好型球茎,包括在奥伯斯敦。  

Oberstown Children Detention Campus 致力于在应对气候紧急情况方面发挥自己的作用,这是整个校园开展的众多生物多样性举措之一。 

 

关于盖斯–总统奖 

你不是在和任何人比较;  

你没有与任何人竞争; 

你实际上在做什么 

创造你自己

——布伦丹·肯内利,爱尔兰诗人和讲故事的人 

Gaisce – 总统奖 自我发展计划 通过参与个人、身体、社区和团队挑战来增强信心和幸福感的年轻人。 Gaisce 成立于 35 年前,是爱尔兰对年轻人的主动性、成就和自愿贡献的最高认可。  

 在这个行业 已获得 ¼ 百万盖斯奖 由全岛的年轻人——通过他们的学校、学院、教育中心和青年团体、残疾服务、直接提供中心以及青年司法和监狱环境参与。 Gaisce 适用于所有 14-25 岁的年轻人,并且是非竞争性奖项。 

盖斯是一个 爱尔兰总统迈克尔·D·希金斯的直接挑战 让所有年轻人“梦想远大,发挥潜能”。 尽管整个 Covid-19 受到限制,但 20,000 年仍有 2020 多名年轻人参加。  

2020 年,奥伯斯敦的 Gaisce 参与者为当地社区设计并制作了圣诞花环

2020 年,奥伯斯敦的 Gaisce 参与者为当地社区设计并制作了圣诞花环

The hard work and determination of young people at Oberstown Children Detention Campus came to fruition at a presentation held on campus last month which saw participants in Gaisce – The President’s Award being presented with their Bronze and Silver Awards. 

The young people at Oberstown successfully completed their Gaisce – The President’s Award challenges over the past 12 months across the four categories of community involvement, personal skills, physical recreation, and adventure journey. The participants took part in a range of activities to achieve their awards including football coaching, barista training, culinary and baking skills and charity and community projects. 

Yvonne McKenna, CEO, Gaisce – The President’s Award said: “A proven self-development programme, Gaisce is a framework through which young people are supported to develop the social and emotional competencies we know are central to making positive life choices, to reaching potential and to flourishing – from empathy to self-efficacy, confidence to wellbeing.  

The partnership we have with Oberstown is a very important one for Gaisce: not only because, right since its inception 35 years ago, the organisation has been committed to ensuring that all young people in Ireland, no matter their personal circumstances, have the opportunity to participate in the Gaisce programme and achieve a Gaisce Award, but because the values that underpin Oberstown’s model of care are ones we fully support.” 

Director of Oberstown, Damien Hernon with Robert Emmet CDP Beekeeper, Anthony Freeman O’ Brien and Yvonne McKenna, CEO of Gaisce - The President's Award

Director of Oberstown, Damien Hernon with Robert Emmet CDP Beekeeper, Anthony Freeman O’ Brien and Yvonne McKenna, CEO of Gaisce – The President’s Award

Completing the programme is a major achievement, with young people developing a wide range of practical and life skills, building self-confidence and resilience, and focusing on positive outcomes. 

Speaking after the awards ceremony, Director of Oberstown, Damien Hernon said: “We are so proud of the young people who have received their Gaisce awards and the staff who guided them on their journey.  

The awards illustrate how, despite often coming from difficult backgrounds, young people can achieve so much when they are provided with a safe and secure environment and the supports needed to flourish. The aim of Gaisce is to support young people in fulfilling their potential which aligns with our commitment at Oberstown to help young people to return to their communities and make a positive contribution.” 

In addition to the young people taking part in the Gaisce Award, the wider community at Oberstown also took on Gaisce’s Bulbs for Bees Challenge earlier this year by planting pollinator friendly bulbs on campus to help protect our vital bee population.  

The BulbsForBees campaign is a national call-to-action for everyone in Ireland to plant bulbs in the Autumn of 2021 which will blossom next spring to celebrate 35 years of Gaisce.  

To date over half a million pollinator friendly bulbs have been planted across Ireland since the start of the campaign including at Oberstown.  

Oberstown Children Detention Campus is committed to playing its part in tackling the climate emergency and this is one of a number of biodiversity initiatives taking place across campus. 

 

About Gaisce – The President’s Award 

You are not comparing yourself with anyone;  

you are not competing with anyone; 

what you are actually doing is 

creating yourself

– Brendan Kennelly, Irish poet and storyteller 

Gaisce – The President’s Award is a self-development programme for young people which enhances confidence and wellbeing through participation in personal, physical, community and team challenges. Gaisce was established 35 years ago as Ireland’s highest recognition of a young person’s initiative, achievement, and voluntary contribution.  

 More than ¼ million Gaisce Awards have been achieved by young people across the island – participating through their schools, colleges, education centres and youth groups, disability services, direct provision centres and across youth justice and in prison settings. Gaisce is for every young person regardless of circumstance aged 14-25 and is non-competitive Award. 

Gaisce is a direct challenge from the President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins to all young people to “dream big and realise their potential”. Despite restrictions throughout Covid-19, more than 20,000 young people participated in 2020.  

In 2020, Gaisce participants in Oberstown designed and made Christmas wreaths for the local community

In 2020, Gaisce participants in Oberstown designed and made Christmas wreaths for the local community