参加国防军挑战的参与者

“从很小的时候我就记得爬树和在外面跑来跑去,随着我的成长,我对活跃的热爱也越来越多”

Iona Lee Parnell – Gaisce 铜奖获得者

冒险之旅

冒险之旅经常被证明是参与者最难忘的盖斯方面。 这是您作为团队的一部分计划、训练和完成户外活动的好机会。 这是一次独特、具有挑战性和令人难忘的经历,可以在参与者之间建立牢固的联系,并有机会发展自给自足和领导技能。 探险之旅可以在陆地上以远足或骑自行车的形式进行,也可以在水上通过独木舟或帆船进行。 冒险之旅可以作为探险或探索进行。

远征与探索

远征是有目的的旅程。 在远征中,主要关注点是旅途。 投入更多时间在这方面,而减少研究和收集信息的努力。

一次探索是一次旅行的目的。 在探索中,主要重点是观察和收集与目的相关的信息。 更多的时间和精力花在这上面,因此花在从一个地方到另一个地方的时间更少。 然而,旅行方面仍然很重要,至少有三分之一的活动时间花在旅行上。

例子:

  • 威克洛路
  • 布伦
  • 斯利夫布鲁姆山脉
  • 科马山

冒险之旅的要求——你需要知道的!

Gaisce - 总统奖冒险之旅有 14 个关键要求。 在开始计划之前,请确保您熟悉这些内容!
 
  1. 冒险之旅必须计划为探险或探索,两者都需要 旅行的.
  2. 所有的冒险旅程都应该在 同行的小团队 铜奖、银奖和金奖级别的 4-10 人。 对于较大的团体,请分成较小的团队并每隔一段时间开始旅程。
  3. 所有旅程必须由参与者 自己的体力劳动 – 脚踏车、轮椅、风帆、皮划艇等,无需机动或外部协助。 冒险之旅可以在陆地或水上进行。
  4. 所有的冒险之旅都应该是 由 PAL 监督 (和适当的监督比率),特别是参与者未满 18 岁或为弱势成年人的情况。 如果 PAL 无法监督冒险之旅,则来自 Gaisce 奖合作伙伴的另一名经过审查/筛选并熟悉冒险之旅计划和要求的成年人可以涵盖。
  5. 全部产品 参与者必须参与计划和准备工作 他们的冒险之旅。
  6. 所有参与者必须是 适当装备和准备 为他们的冒险之旅。
  7. 参与者必须住在自助式旅馆、露营或其他合适的类似住宿形式。
  8. 必须鼓励参与者在进行冒险之旅时了解合适的膳食准备和营养要求,并在可能的情况下帮助计划、制作和/或组织共享膳食。 PAL 和参与者应计划适合冒险旅程环境的膳食选择,并在可能的情况下自食其力。
  9. 冒险之旅应由经过适当培训或具有适合冒险之旅活动经验的合格人员进行。
  10. 参与者必须 采购和运输所有装备和设备 他们在冒险之旅中需要的。
  11. 冒险之旅应该具有挑战性,但要在参与者的能力和健康水平范围内。
  12. 冒险之旅的旅行天数必须是 连续.
  13. 旅行的路线应该从A点到B点再到C点等。 (除了接受环形步行的铜奖)
  14. 完成冒险之旅 PAL 应审查和评估 与参与者的经验。

©2022 Gaisce – Gradam an Uachtaráin,总统奖是一家担保有限公司(CRO 251020),拥有 CHY 和 CRA 编号(分别为 8482 和 20020903)

Participant taking part in the Defence Forces Challenge

“From a young age I can remember climbing trees and running around outside and as I’ve grown, so has my love for being active“

Iona Lee Parnell – Gaisce Bronze Awardee

Adventure Journey

The Adventure Journey often proves to be the most memorable aspect of Gaisce for participants. It is an opportunity for you to plan, train for and complete an outdoor activity over a number of days/nights as part of a team. It is a unique, challenging and memorable experience that creates strong bonds between participants as well as the opportunity to develop self-sufficiency and leadership skills. Adventure Journeys can take place on land in the form of hiking or cycling, or on water, by canoeing or sailing. The Adventure Journey can be undertaken as an expedition or an exploration.

Expedition vs. Exploration

An Expedition is a journey with a purpose. In an Expedition, the primary focus is on the journeying. More time is devoted to this with less effort put into research and gathering information.

An Exploration is a purpose with a journey. In an Exploration, the primary focus is to observe and collect information relevant to the purpose. More time and effort is spent on this, and consequently less time is devoted to getting from one place to another. The journeying aspect remains significant, however, with a minimum of one third of the activity hours being spent on journeying.

Examples:

  • Wicklow Way
  • Burren
  • Slievebloom Mountains
  • Comeragh Mountains

Adventure Journey Requirements – what you need to know!

There are 14 key requirements for a Gaisce – The President’s Award Adventure Journey. Make sure you’re familiar with these before you start planning!
 
  1. The Adventure Journey must be planned as either an expedition or an exploration, both require journeying.
  2. All Adventure Journeys should be undertaken in small teams of peers between 4-10 people at Bronze, Silver, and Gold Award level. For larger groups break up into smaller teams and start the journey at intervals.
  3. All journeys must be by the participants own physical effort – foot cycle, wheelchair, sail, kayak etc., without motorised, or outside assistance. The Adventure Journey can take place on land or water.
  4. All Adventure Journeys should be supervised by the PAL (and appropriate supervision ratios), particularly where the participants are under the age of 18 or are vulnerable adults. Where a PAL is not in a position to supervise the Adventure Journey another adult from the Gaisce Award Partner who has been vetted/screened and is familiar with the Adventure Journey planning and requirements can cover.
  5. All participants must be involved in the planning and preparation of their Adventure Journey.
  6. All participants must be properly equipped and prepared for their Adventure Journey.
  7. The participants must stay in a self-catering hostel, camping or in another suitable form of similar accommodation.
  8. Participants must be encouraged to understand suitable meal preparation and nutritional requirements when undertaking an adventure journey and where possible help to plan, make and/or organise shared meals. PALs and participants should plan meal options appropriate to the adventure journey setting and where possible self- cater.
  9. The Adventure Journey should be undertaken with a suitably trained or qualified person with experience appropriate to the adventure journey activity.
  10. Participants must source and transport all gear and equipment that they will require with them on the Adventure Journey.
  11. The Adventure Journey should be challenging but within the capabilities and fittness level of the participants.
  12. The travel days of the Adventure Journey must be consecutive.
  13. The route of the journey should go from point A to point B to point C etc. (with the exception of the Bronze Award where looped walks are accepted)
  14. On Completion of the Adventure Journey PALs should review and evaluate the experience with participants.

©2022 Gaisce – Gradam an Uachtaráin, The President’s Award is a company limited by guarantee (CRO 251020) and with a CHY and CRA number (8482 and 20020903 respectively)